Page 1 of 1

How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:03 am
by sborsu
Hi,
I am trying My Money on my mac and I would like to add Singapore Dollars (SGD) to the list of currencies. Please let me know how can I do that.
Thanks

Re: How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:37 am
by mthadm
Custom currency functionality is disabled at the moment, we plan on enabling it in January of 2009.

The reason for this is because we consider custom defined currencies to be financial instruments, similar to securities, derivatives, etc and the functionality is tied to the investment part of My Money which is upcoming.

Thanks

Re: How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:48 am
by MacManiac
It is end of January 09. Have you enabled the feature for adding currencies?

I can't see it in the demo that I downloaded.

Thanks.

MacManiac

Re: How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:36 am
by mthadm
Hello,

We are in a private beta testing at the moment. We should be releasing into public beta soon,

Are you a Singapore user as well? We are thinking to may be enable SGD temporarily

Thanks

Re: How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:17 am
by MacManiac
Yes, as luck would have it I am. I was rather surprised to see that SGD had already been requested. I was trying tons of different software this weekend, and yours is one of the ones I prefer. Even though you seem to have just about every currency under the sun already there (which is commendable). One of the ones that I needed was SGD...

I also have to commend your ease of transfer to accounts in different currencies. The banks never actually point out the exact exchange rates, so having the final "transfer" visible there, gives us, the users, a good feel for putting the right one in.

One modification I would suggest would be to have the capability of deriving the fx rate from the 2 amounts.

EG: I send USD 600 to a SGD account. I receive SGD 903.78 . If I could type the 2 amounts in and have the app calculate 1.5063 for me. It would be great.

Not really a biggie, for as soon as you have SGD enabled, I will be purchasing it.

MacManiac.

Re: How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:34 pm
by mthadm
We just added about 60 missing currencies, including SGD, this should appear in build 2.0.40 ~ 3 weeks from now

See attached:



sgd.png
sgd.png (53.14 KiB) Viewed 3763 times

Re: How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:18 pm
by MacManiac
Fantastic!

I'm supposing that this means I would be able to upgrade to it if I purchased today.

MacManiac

Re: How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:50 pm
by mthadm
We are definitely going to have SGD in the next release, in fact as we said we added some 60 additional currencies and languages

As far as the purchasing goes, we normally ask our customers to finish evaluation before they are ready to purchase, we have a very low, almost non-existent rate of returns and we would like to keep it that way

Thanks

Re: How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:18 am
by MacManiac
Is there going to be a possibility of me downloading this new release? At the moment the trial version is just shelfware, as I cannot really start using it until I have access to the Singapore Dollar...

Thanks,

MacManiac

Re: How to add a new currency

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 9:06 am
by mthadm
We are not done, but I suppose we can release into a custom build if you don't mind some rough edges here and there

Please pm us if interested,

Thanks