How to add a new currency

General Discussions and Announcements

How to add a new currency

Postby sborsu » Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:03 am

Hi,
I am trying My Money on my mac and I would like to add Singapore Dollars (SGD) to the list of currencies. Please let me know how can I do that.
Thanks
sborsu
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:01 am

Re: How to add a new currency

Postby mthadm » Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:37 am

Custom currency functionality is disabled at the moment, we plan on enabling it in January of 2009.

The reason for this is because we consider custom defined currencies to be financial instruments, similar to securities, derivatives, etc and the functionality is tied to the investment part of My Money which is upcoming.

Thanks
---
MTH Software

Reminder: MTH Software employees will never ask for the username and password for any of your banking or credit card accounts.
Please do not provide this information when using our contact form.

My Money download page: http://www.mthbuilt.com/download.html
My Money manual: http://wiki.mthbuilt.com/My_Money_2.0_Manual
User avatar
mthadm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 12:58 am

Re: How to add a new currency

Postby MacManiac » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:48 am

It is end of January 09. Have you enabled the feature for adding currencies?

I can't see it in the demo that I downloaded.

Thanks.

MacManiac
MacManiac
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:46 am

Re: How to add a new currency

Postby mthadm » Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:36 am

Hello,

We are in a private beta testing at the moment. We should be releasing into public beta soon,

Are you a Singapore user as well? We are thinking to may be enable SGD temporarily

Thanks
---
MTH Software

Reminder: MTH Software employees will never ask for the username and password for any of your banking or credit card accounts.
Please do not provide this information when using our contact form.

My Money download page: http://www.mthbuilt.com/download.html
My Money manual: http://wiki.mthbuilt.com/My_Money_2.0_Manual
User avatar
mthadm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 12:58 am

Re: How to add a new currency

Postby MacManiac » Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:17 am

Yes, as luck would have it I am. I was rather surprised to see that SGD had already been requested. I was trying tons of different software this weekend, and yours is one of the ones I prefer. Even though you seem to have just about every currency under the sun already there (which is commendable). One of the ones that I needed was SGD...

I also have to commend your ease of transfer to accounts in different currencies. The banks never actually point out the exact exchange rates, so having the final "transfer" visible there, gives us, the users, a good feel for putting the right one in.

One modification I would suggest would be to have the capability of deriving the fx rate from the 2 amounts.

EG: I send USD 600 to a SGD account. I receive SGD 903.78 . If I could type the 2 amounts in and have the app calculate 1.5063 for me. It would be great.

Not really a biggie, for as soon as you have SGD enabled, I will be purchasing it.

MacManiac.
MacManiac
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:46 am

Re: How to add a new currency

Postby mthadm » Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:34 pm

We just added about 60 missing currencies, including SGD, this should appear in build 2.0.40 ~ 3 weeks from now

See attached:



sgd.png
sgd.png (53.14 KiB) Viewed 3532 times
---
MTH Software

Reminder: MTH Software employees will never ask for the username and password for any of your banking or credit card accounts.
Please do not provide this information when using our contact form.

My Money download page: http://www.mthbuilt.com/download.html
My Money manual: http://wiki.mthbuilt.com/My_Money_2.0_Manual
User avatar
mthadm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 12:58 am

Re: How to add a new currency

Postby MacManiac » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:18 pm

Fantastic!

I'm supposing that this means I would be able to upgrade to it if I purchased today.

MacManiac
MacManiac
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:46 am

Re: How to add a new currency

Postby mthadm » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:50 pm

We are definitely going to have SGD in the next release, in fact as we said we added some 60 additional currencies and languages

As far as the purchasing goes, we normally ask our customers to finish evaluation before they are ready to purchase, we have a very low, almost non-existent rate of returns and we would like to keep it that way

Thanks
---
MTH Software

Reminder: MTH Software employees will never ask for the username and password for any of your banking or credit card accounts.
Please do not provide this information when using our contact form.

My Money download page: http://www.mthbuilt.com/download.html
My Money manual: http://wiki.mthbuilt.com/My_Money_2.0_Manual
User avatar
mthadm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 12:58 am

Re: How to add a new currency

Postby MacManiac » Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:18 am

Is there going to be a possibility of me downloading this new release? At the moment the trial version is just shelfware, as I cannot really start using it until I have access to the Singapore Dollar...

Thanks,

MacManiac
MacManiac
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:46 am

Re: How to add a new currency

Postby mthadm » Mon Feb 09, 2009 9:06 am

We are not done, but I suppose we can release into a custom build if you don't mind some rough edges here and there

Please pm us if interested,

Thanks
---
MTH Software

Reminder: MTH Software employees will never ask for the username and password for any of your banking or credit card accounts.
Please do not provide this information when using our contact form.

My Money download page: http://www.mthbuilt.com/download.html
My Money manual: http://wiki.mthbuilt.com/My_Money_2.0_Manual
User avatar
mthadm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 12:58 am


Return to General Discussions and Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron