Split Categories and Check Numbers

General Discussions and Announcements

Split Categories and Check Numbers

Postby javde » Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:32 am

I'm a fairly new user. I'm using the Mac version. In the past I have used Quicken for Windows and used split categories to tract how money is spent at a particular store (for example groceries and household at a particular store). When I split a transaction in MyMoney, the payee changes to multiple payee. This is very annoying, since there is only one payee. Additionally, when I split the categories, I cannot enter a check number.
javde
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:02 am

Re: Split Categories and Check Numbers

Postby mthadm » Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:41 am

These are done on purpose, in your example of a grocery shopping you may also want to separately record a sales tax obligation that may go to a different payee, not just category and many use cases actually require split between payees. We try to be helpful as much as we can though, when you click on an empty row in a split dialog a new entry will appear that by default has the same payee information, does that not work for you ?

The check number on splits was disabled until recently for different reasons, it is switched back on in build 38 which will be available shortly.

Thanks.
---
MTH Software

Reminder: MTH Software employees will never ask for the username and password for any of your banking or credit card accounts.
Please do not provide this information when using our contact form.

My Money download page: http://www.mthbuilt.com/download.html
My Money manual: http://wiki.mthbuilt.com/My_Money_2.0_Manual
User avatar
mthadm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 12:58 am

Re: Split Categories and Check Numbers

Postby javde » Fri Nov 28, 2008 12:12 pm

Although I could see how that would be beneficial to a business or some individuals, I would venture that the vast majority of private users don't track sales tax separately. If they do, they probably don't show it going to a separate payee, since their transaction still goes directly to the business (single payee), which in turn pays the tax to the government (at least in the USA). In any case, it would be helpful if the program could recognize if all of the payees in the split are the same and list them as a single payee in the register. Having to click on a transaction and then on the split button to see where a transaction went seems cumbersome.
javde
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:02 am

Re: Split Categories and Check Numbers

Postby mthadm » Fri Nov 28, 2008 12:25 pm

This makes sense actually. We will add logic that will quickly check whether all payees are the same in the split and if they are it will show a single payee in the register.

Thanks
---
MTH Software

Reminder: MTH Software employees will never ask for the username and password for any of your banking or credit card accounts.
Please do not provide this information when using our contact form.

My Money download page: http://www.mthbuilt.com/download.html
My Money manual: http://wiki.mthbuilt.com/My_Money_2.0_Manual
User avatar
mthadm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 12:58 am


Return to General Discussions and Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron